-

Tutorial 1 w/ Kenny Hunter

In Uncategorized on 27 September, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Had my first tutorial today with Kenny Hunter. We talked about my new pursuits in what will eventually become the resemblance of art. A majorly preliminary tutorial, mostly introductions and discussing who I am. Was productive though.

Kenny brought up the religious connection with man’s control-complex with nature, quoting Genesis, acutally,

26Then God said,(A) “Let us make man[a] in our image,(B) after our likeness. And(C) let them have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over the livestock and over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.” 27So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them. 28And God blessed them. And God said to them,(E) “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.” 29And God said, “Behold, I have given you every plant yielding seed that is on the face of all the earth, and every tree with seed in its fruit.(F) You shall have them for food.

… which I thought was pretty interesting, that this concept of dominion is so inherent in religion. I hadn’t considered that before, though I’m sure that’s pretty obvious to some!

Kenny picked up on the museology themes from last term (no surprise) and was curious that I was moving in a more art-driven, as he said “pop” fashion with the 4-colour separations. I explained that I felt very constrained last term with the work I was producing, and that it didn’t feel like it matched my personality. I think that the work seemed a bit overly contemplated, less immediate, and fresh. After showing Kenny a photoshop image of one of the prints I’ve been working on he noticed the humour in it, which I appreciated. He suggested that I amp up the gross-factor even a bit more, and suggested that I go visit some garbage dumps or waste areas… that’s a great idea I think.

We also discussed artists I liked (which was a wee bit embarrassing because I have such a shit memory for names) and I emailed Kenny after with a list of artists I’ve been looking at and whom I like, or feel my work has a connection to. In the email I mentioned:

Olaf Breuning, Katharina Fritsch, Randy Bolton, Doug Aitken, Trenton Doyle Hancock, and a my hometown fav Aaron Stork.

Kenny suggested that I look at the paper sculptures of Tom Sachs, Tom Friedman, and Ricky Swallow. Kenny mentioned Alexis Rockman as well, whose works I have looked at before… I got a book out from the ECA library on his work anyway, and have enjoyed reading the introduction, as well as the detailed info on Rockman’s process in the book, Wonderful World: Alexis Rockman by Dan Cameron. I also checked out a book on Tom Sachs, but as it’s 300+ pages long, I’m not very far into it yet.

So after meeting and discussing I’m feeling anxious to start up with some work, tomorrow AM… I decided to do some life maintenance today – i.e. laundry, blog updating, etc. – as the day was half gone once tutorial and work at the ECA library was complete.

Leave a Reply

